Governance and accounts

ODI is led by a Board, chaired by James Cameron, with other Members from various industries and sectors.

Our Board

James Cameron is the Chair of ODI’s Board and Council. A lawyer by training, James is the non-executive chairman and co-founder of Climate Change Capital and has spent much of his legal career working on climate change matters. He is also a member of the WEF’s Agenda Council on Climate Change, a Trustee Member of the UK Green Building Council and the Carbon Disclosure Project and, a member of the Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Group and of the Green Investment Bank Commission.

Ann Grant British Diplomat from 1971-2005, High Commissioner to South Africa 2000-2005. Vice Chairman Africa at Standard Chartered Bank, 2005-2014.

Isobel Hunter is an Independent Human Resources consultant with a particular focus on international organisations in the not-for-profit and public sector.

Richard Laing has a number of non-executive roles across commercial organisations and NGOs, with a focus on developing countries.  He was Chief Executive of CDC Group plc, the UK’s bilateral Development Finance Institution until 2011. Prior to this, he held a number of positions at De La Rue plc in Brazil and the UK, latterly as Group Finance Director. He worked previously in agribusiness and at PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Elizabeth Ondaatje is a public policy researcher. Formerly at the RAND Corporation, she has published widely on a range of issues. She currently serves on the Executive Committee of Human Rights Watch California Committee and the Advisory Board of the Fulbright Scholars Enrichment Program.

Martin Tyler is Executive Director, Operations, at Asthma UK and has previously worked at a senior level in a number of international charities including Amnesty International, Christian Aid and the Fairtrade Foundation. He holds various other Trusteeships.

Sue Unsworth (elected 2004) is a Principal with The Policy Practice. She was formerly Regional Director for Asia and subsequently Chief Governance Adviser at the Department for International Development.  She has also been a Research Associate with the Governance Team at IDS, University of Sussex.

Stewart Wallis is Executive Director of nef (New Economics Foundation). Prior to this he was at the World Bank before joining Oxfam as International Director in 1992.

Chris West is the Director of the Shell Foundation.  He has lived in both East and West Africa and has previously worked for DfID. Chris was involved in early discussions around the creation of the Shell Foundation and joined shortly after its launch in 2000 as Deputy Director. He also played a leading role in co-founding GroFin, which is now the leading provider of business development assistance and appropriate finance to start-up and growing small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs) in Africa. He was appointed SF Director in 2008