Our Senior Leadership Team

Our board

Sir Suma Chakrabarti, Chair

Suma Chakrabarti is the former President of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), a position he held from 2012-2020. Prior to this, he was the Permanent Secretary at the UK’s Department for International Development and the Ministry of Justice. He has also worked at the UK Cabinet Office and Treasury.

Suma’s earlier career was in international development. He was an ODI Fellow in Botswana in the early 1980s. He held various economic and administrative posts at the Overseas Development Administration, the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund. Suma was knighted in 2006 for his work in the sector.

Yves Daccord

Yves Daccord is Director-General of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) in Geneva. A former journalist, TV producer and international relations expert, his ICRC career has spanned more than two decades, taking him to Israel and the Occupied Territories, Sudan, Yemen, Chechnya and Georgia. Prior to his appointment as Director-General, he held the posts of Head of Communication Division and Director of Communications. He assumed the chair of Steering Committee for Humanitarian Response (SCHR) in January 2015.

Shanta Devarajan

Shanta Devarajan is Senior Director for Development Economics at the World Bank. He was Chief Economist of the World Bank’s Middle East and North Africa, Africa, and South Asia Regions; and director of the World Development Report 2004, Making Services Work for Poor People. The author or co-author of over 100 publications, his research covers public economics, trade, natural resources and the environment, and general equilibrium modeling of developing countries. 

Irene Khan

Irene Khan is an international thought leader and a champion for human rights, gender equality and social justice. She was the first woman to be elected as Director-General of the International Development Law Organization (IDLO). She is also the only woman to become Secretary-General of Amnesty International. Irene has also worked for the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), including as the UNHCR Representative in India. 

Irene has been a Board member of several development and human rights organisations. She was awarded the City of Sydney Peace Prize in 2006 for her work to end violence against women.

Dominic McVey

Dominic McVey is an award-winning business leader who was recognised by Her Majesty the Queen as a pioneer in entrepreneurship at the age of 18 for his role in the initial boom of micro scooters in the late 1990s. He is a member of the Advisory Council for the Coalition for Global Prosperity and a trustee for Computer Aid International. He was previously a trustee for the Landscape Institute.

Dominic is the former chairman of Hela Clothing and driving force behind the award-winning garment manufacturer, which is recognised widely for its sustainable and ethical practices.

Dianna Melrose

Dianna Melrose is a former British High Commissioner to Tanzania and Ambassador to Cuba. As Oxfam GB's first Policy Director, she played a key role in building Oxfam's policy and international advocacy work. At DFID, she developed the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative, and was Head of International Trade. Dianna led UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office's Policy Planning department, providing challenge and innovative policy thinking for ministers and the Policy Advisory Board.

Elizabeth Ondaatje

Elizabeth Ondaatje is a public policy researcher. Formerly at the RAND Corporation, she has published widely on a range of issues and currently conducts research pro bono for Human Rights Watch on cybercrime laws in Asia. She serves on the Executive Committee of Human Rights Watch Los Angeles Committee and the Advisory Board of the Fulbright Scholars Enrichment Program. Previously she served on several charity boards in the arts and education.

Sam Sharpe

Sam Sharpe has been Chief Financial Officer of Save the Children UK since 2014. Before that, he worked for the UK Government’s Department for International Development (DFID). He spent 13 years overseas – managing programmes in Zambia and Zimbabwe, and in India during the 1990s, before heading DFID’s South African, and then Indian offices. From 2007 to 2010, he was DFID’s Director of Finance and Corporate Performance.

Fiona Thompson

Fiona Thompson is a board member of Transparency International UK, Forum for the Future and the Westminster Kingsway-City & Islington Colleges of Further Education. She chairs the audit committee for the latter two, and is a member of the audit committee of the UK Department for International Development. She was formerly Vice Chair of CARE International UK.

Martin Tyler

Martin Tyler has spent over 20 years in the charity sector as Director of Finance for a number of organisations including the Refugee Council, Christian Aid, the Fairtrade Foundation and Amnesty International UK. He is a trustee at Practical Action and is treasurer of CPRE, the countryside charity.

James Cameron

James Cameron is an international lawyer, policy adviser and entrepreneur. He is a partner in a new enterprise called Systemiq, offering a service to create system level changes through mobilising capital and talent, and he is the first Executive Fellow at Yale. He has founded, and been on the founding Boards of numerous organisations designed to use international law to protect the environment and achieve sustainable development. He was also formerly a member of the Prime Minister's Business Advisory Group, and Infrastructure UK's advisory board.